sweet potato meatloaf and a selfie.

Yesterday, I got home from work and laid on the couch until the moon shined in on me.  I felt exhausted.  Like I had been hit by a bus.  Worthless.  I went to bed angry with myself but woke up to a devotional that reminded me that slowing down isn’t always a bad thing.  In fact, we can probably learn more about ourselves and this world a whole heck of a lot more when we’re not rushing around like all of the people on Black Friday, even though I might be one of them.  This morning, I sat in traffic.  It was dark outside when I was walking into work.  For the first time in five weeks I looked at the sky as I walked up the pavement.  I could see the shadows of a field for miles.  The moon was still shining, just barely.  And the sky was the most beautiful sapphire blue I had ever seen.  My whole perspective changed in that moment.

My whole day was better for the sole fact that I listened to myself breath and I traveled slowly, lightly.  It was another long one, but a perfect one at that.

So tonight I went for a long run with my fur child, thought about the babe in my belly, and made sweet potato meatloaf.

Oh, and I took a photograph because photographs make me happy.

Sweet Potato Meatloaf.

Ingredients
  • 1.5 lbs ground turkey, approx.
  • 1 large sweet potato
  • 1 onion, finely chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced (optional)
  • 1 tbsp honey
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 cup flaxseed meal
  • 1 tbsp salt
  • 2 heaping tbsp Italian seasoning

Directions
  1. Roast or steam your sweet potato. It will soften up a lot faster if cut into small cubes. Feel free to leave the skin on, but you can also peel it off if it’s not your thing.
  2. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  3. Mash sweet potato in a large bowl with a fork, and add turkey, onion, garlic, honey, egg, flaxseed, salt and spices. Mix until all ingredients are thoroughly combined. (Hate to admit it, but using your hands works best!)
  4. Place your mixture in a greased meatloaf pan.
  5. Stick in the oven and bake for about 50-55 minutes. Cover with tinfoil if necessary to avoid burning the top.
  6. Enjoy with your favorite steamed vegetable >>> steamed cauliflower with thyme in our house.
One thought on “sweet potato meatloaf and a selfie.

Leave a Reply

